Our Vestry and Officers


Our Vestry and Officers

The Vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. The number of Vestry members and the term of office varies from parish to parish. Palmer’s Vestry includes our Rector, the Rev. Neil Alan Willard, and 15 elected Vestry members from the congregation. Each year in January, five new Vestry members are elected for three-year terms at our Annual Parish Meeting.

The presiding officer of the Vestry is Palmer’s Rector. Other officers include two wardens, a treasurer, and a clerk. The Senior Warden leads the parish between rectors and is a support person for the Rector. The Junior Warden shares leadership responsibilities with the Senior Warden. Neither the Treasurer nor the Clerk of the Vestry are required to be Vestry members.

The basic responsibilities of the Vestry are to help define and articulate the mission of the congregation; to support the church's mission by word and deed, to select and call the Rector in cooperation with the Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas, to ensure effective organization and planning, and to manage our resources and finances.

Current Vestry

The Rev. Neil Alan Willard, Rector
Jim Key, Senior Warden
Jim Mercurio
Victor Lamas
Jennifer Macia
Priscilla Plumb
Linda Sylvan
Ruth Davies
Will Denham (Will transition out later in 2018)
Susannah Webb (Alternate for Will Denham)
Allison Marek
Steven Vaughan
Kristie Van Arsdel
Barbara Hass
Al Hergenroeder
Rita Justice
Burdette Keeland


Tom Van Arsdel, Chancellor
Michael Chambers, Vice Chancellor
Dick Sylvan, Treasurer